classical music, opera, theatre

Ligeti 100

one interval
Béla Bartók National Concert Hall
  • Produced by Müpa Budapest

Ticket prices

Add this event to your Google Calendar.

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the birth of György Ligeti, one of the most exciting composers of the 20th century, a constant seeker of new paths forward. Originally from Transylvania, he studied at Budapest's Liszt Academy and, after emigrating in 1956, produced his mature work in Western Europe. Concerto Budapest and the Hungarian Radio Choir are commemorating the artist with a concert of four emblematic works of his, with the singers Sarah Defrise and Szilvia Vörös serving as the two soloists for the concert. Two decades younger than Ligeti, Péter Eötvös will make for the most fitting possible conductor for the evening.

"It is my wish that nothing be named after me, but if it must, it should be the 'György Ligeti Dead End'." The artist once expressed this sentiment at the end of an interview after having confessed a few sentences earlier, "I am deeply dissatisfied with myself (…) I am constantly searching, but I can't find my own language and I always do something new." It is thanks to this constant search for a way forward that the composer's œuvre is full of exciting twists and turns. This centenary concert brings to life four stages in Ligeti's journey of discovery: works that have developed lives of their own, three of them orchestral and the fourth an oratorio. Melodien (1971), Clocks and Clouds (1972/73), San Francisco Polyphony (1973/74) and Requiem (1963-65) all represent the part of the composer's output from his years in the West, giving us the opportunity to encounter phenomena such as micropolyphony, the sound cloud, and the "meccanico" character. Sarah Defrise and Szilvia Vörös, the singers joining the Hungarian Radio Choir and Concerto Budapest, are outstanding representatives of the younger generation, and Péter Eötvös was not only a lifelong friend of the older master's, he is also one of the leading experts on his works.

The concert will be preceded from 6.30 pm by a conversation in Hungarian entitled Prologue, where ticket holders will be invited to get to know the performing musician and the works to be performed more closely.
The host of the discussion is Gergely Fazekas.

Presented by: Müpa Budapest


  • Péter Eötvös
  • soprano
    Sarah Defrise
  • mezzo-soprano
    Szilvia Vörös
  • Hungarian Radio Choir (choirmaster: Zoltán Pad)
  • Concerto Budapest

Ticket information

You may purchase tickets online and in person for this performance using a Müpa Budapest gift voucher or by debiting the leisure allowance on OTP, K&H or MKB SZÉP cards.
If you purchase the tickets in person, then we also accept Edenred Gift Vouchers, and Edenred gift cards (Benefit and Family cards) as well as the culture subaccount allowance on OTP Cafeteria cards.

Parking information

We wish to inform you that in the event that Müpa Budapest's underground garage and outdoor car park are operating at full capacity, it is advisable to plan for increased waiting times when you arrive. In order to avoid this, we recommend that you depart for our events in time, so that you you can find the ideal parking spot quickly and smoothly and arrive for our performance in comfort. The Müpa Budapest underground garage gates will be operated by an automatic number plate recognition system. Parking is free of charge for visitors with tickets to any of our paid performances on that given day. The detailed parking policy of Müpa Budapest is available here.

Refreshments – Without the Queue

Thanks to our new catering service at the Átrium Snack Bar, you can forget about waiting in line during intermissions for some refreshments and get your order prepped especially for you by the time the intermission actually starts. Find out more about pre-ordering here.

Safe ticket purchase

Dear Visitors, please note that only tickets purchased from the Müpa website and official ticket offices are guaranteed to be valid. To avoid possible inconvenience, we suggest buying tickets to our performances and concerts via the website, the Interticket national network ( or at our official ticket offices.

Related season ticket

With discount

Seniors’ Season

Ugrás az oldal tetejére