world music, jazz, popular music

SFJAZZ Collective: New Works Reflecting the Moment

no interval
Béla Bartók National Concert Hall
  • Produced by Müpa Budapest

Ticket prices

Add this event to your Google Calendar.

DownBeat magazine writes that this ensembles condenses talent, explosive virtuosity and acclaim to a degree that cannot really be found in other comparable jazz line-ups. The SFJAZZ Collective is a true workshop band, a community of co-creators of equal standing. Increased to nine members for this tour, the team is preparing an out of the ordinary show in which they present their compositions inspired by the challenges of today, including the pandemic and the wide gaps between how people view the world.

Founded in 2004, the SFJAZZ Collective has set out from the beginning to operate as a democratic community of leading jazz musicians. Primarily arranging the works of major figures from the worlds of jazz and pop music for themselves to play, the ensemble thus both pays homage to their work while producing the sound of the latest trends in jazz from their instruments. This is how they show that jazz is an eternal, living genre. Over the years, they have paid tribute to the creative worlds of John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter, Stevie Wonder, Chick Corea, Michael Jackson, Miles Davis and António Carlos Jobim, among others; more than a hundred arrangements and original compositions have come out of their workshop.
Rehearsals of the material compiled for this tour began in San Francisco in the fall of 2021 under the musical direction of Chris Potter, and the première took place at the SFJAZZ Center. Each band member came up with a brand-new original composition expressing what it means for them to face the challenges of the 2020s: the problems of the pandemic, racial prejudice and political extremism. Joining the ensemble for this project are the renowned New York singer Gretchen Parlato and one of the most sought-after drummers, Kendrick Scott, who has also had a prominent career as a bandleader.

Presented by: Müpa Budapest
  • bandleader, tenor and soprano saxophone
    Chris Potter
  • tenor saxophone
    David Sánchez
  • trumpet
    Etienne Charles
  • vibraphone
    Warren Wolf
  • piano
    Edward Simon
  • double bass
    Matt Brewer
  • drums
    Kendrick Scott
  • vocals
    Gretchen Parlato, Martin Luther McCoy

Parking information

We wish to inform you that in the event that Müpa Budapest's underground garage and outdoor car park are operating at full capacity, it is advisable to plan for increased waiting times when you arrive. In order to avoid this, we recommend that you depart for our events in time, so that you you can find the ideal parking spot quickly and smoothly and arrive for our performance in comfort. The Müpa Budapest underground garage gates will be operated by an automatic number plate recognition system. Parking is free of charge for visitors with tickets to any of our paid performances on that given day. The detailed parking policy of Müpa Budapest is available here.

Safe ticket purchase

Dear Visitors, please note that only tickets purchased from the Müpa website and official ticket offices are guaranteed to be valid. To avoid possible inconvenience, we suggest buying tickets to our performances and concerts via the website, the Interticket national network ( or at our official ticket offices.

Ugrás az oldal tetejére