classical music, opera, theatre

The Secret of Peer Gynt

one interval
Béla Bartók National Concert Hall

Ticket prices

Please note that by buying tickets you are accepting the house rules at Müpa Budapest, which also include the latest regulations and security rules. You can read further details and find key information on this page.

Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

Add this event to your Google Calendar.

Romanticism, French music, Scandinavian legends, lyricism, drama and epic storytelling all wrapped into a single concert: this is the message of the first programme of the Pannon Philharmonic's first season. A richly emotional Saint-Saëns cello concerto featuring a "debate” between the soloist and the orchestra, followed by the expression of broader, more lyrical thoughts. Fauré's popular Élégie could almost be the continuation of the previous work, a shining example of musical melancholy and the attempt to provide consolation. We'll also get to enjoy a special experience in the form of both of Grieg's Peer Gynt suites, but in a new dramaturgical framework, with the first following the second.

While this programme will not lack passion, sorrow or struggle, it also embraces the world of fairy tales and the realm of the imagination. Written in A minor, Saint-Saëns's Cello Concerto No. 1 has its sense of drama enhanced by, beyond the choice of key, the passionate "debate" between the soloist and the orchestra that the work initiates. This emotionally rich composition easily captivates the audience's feelings. Some of the melodies in Peer Gynt are familiar to even infrequent listeners to classical music. It is always an interesting experience, however, to hear all of these melodies played as a complete set. Featured at this concert, which replaces the concert of the same title that was cancelled owing to the pandemic, will be a wonderful new soloist in the person of Daniel Müller-Schott and, in addition to the glimpse into the secrets and story of Peer Gynt, a look at two new works for the Budapest audience. Taking the podium for the concert will be chief conductor Gilbert Varga.

Presented by: Pannon Philharmonic

Parking information

The Müpa Budapest underground garage gates will be operated by an automatic number plate recognition system. Parking is free of charge for visitors with tickets to any of our paid performances on that given day. The detailed parking policy of Müpa Budapest is available here.

Refreshments – Without the Queue

Thanks to our new catering service at the Átrium Snack Bar, you can forget about waiting in line during intermissions for some refreshments and get your order prepped especially for you by the time the intermission actually starts. Find out more about pre-ordering here.

Safe ticket purchase

Dear Visitors, please note that only tickets purchased from the Müpa website and official ticket offices are guaranteed to be valid. To avoid possible inconvenience, we suggest buying tickets to our performances and concerts via the website, the Interticket national network ( or at our official ticket offices.


  • Gilbert Varga
  • cello
    Daniel Müller Schott
  • Pannon Philharmonic

Ugrás az oldal tetejére