classical music, opera, theatre

Kodály Philharmonic Debrecen

Béla Bartók National Concert Hall
  • Produced by Müpa Budapest
  • Discoveries

Ticket prices

Add this event to your Google Calendar.

A Saint-Saëns piano concerto, Sándor Veress's rarely heard Violin Concerto and two young instrumental soloists. The second half will consist of a quite impressive symphonic composition, whose keyboard part will be performed by an artist who is not only an organist and conductor: he's also an expert on aerial photography. There will be plenty to discover at this concert featuring Imre Kollár and the Kodály Philharmonic along with Gergő Zoltán Varga, Éva Osztrosits and Dániel Somogyi-Tóth!

"It starts with Bach and ends with Offenbach"- this is how one contemporary assessed the capricious changes in style in Saint-Saëns' Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor. The soloist playing the work, Gergő Zoltán Varga, completed the Liszt Academy's piano performance and pedagogy course with honours in 2015. He has achieved successful results at competitions both in Hungary and abroad and taken the stage in numerous concert halls across Europe and Asia. Sándor Veress was a student of Kodály's and Bartók's. His style, built on foundations of folk music, would later also be influenced by twelve-tone serialism in the second half of his life after he emigrated from Hungary in 1949 in order to settle in Switzerland. He wrote his Violin Concerto in 1939 and revised it in 1948. Performing the solo part will be Éva Osztrosits, who like Varga is a graduate of Budapest's Liszt Academy. She is a veteran of many festivals, playing along such partners as Vilde Frang, Nicolas Altstaedt, Maxim Rysanov and Ilya Gringolts. Dániel Somogyi-Tóth, who will be featured in the Saint-Saëns Organ Symphony, is both a conductor and an organist; he studied under Tamás Gál, András Ligeti and Gábor Lehotka. Imre Kollár, the first prize winner at the 1994 Treviso International Conducting Competition, served as the artistic director of the Kodály Philharmonic Debrecen, which has been active since 1923, between 1995 and 2008.

Presented by: Müpa Budapest

Ticket information

You may purchase tickets online for this performance using a Müpa Budapest gift voucher or by debiting the leisure allowance on OTP or MKB SZÉP cards.
If you purchase the tickets in person, then we also accept Edenred Gift Vouchers, and Edenred gift cards (Benefit and Family cards) as well as the culture subaccount allowance on OTP Cafeteria cards. Tickets can further be purchased from our box offices by debiting the leisure allowance on OTP or MKB SZÉP cards.

Parking information

The Müpa Budapest underground garage gates will be operated by an automatic number plate recognition system. Parking is free of charge for visitors with tickets to any of our paid performances on that given day. The detailed parking policy of Müpa Budapest is available here.

Safe ticket purchase

Dear Visitors, please note that only tickets purchased from the Müpa website and official ticket offices are guaranteed to be valid. To avoid possible inconvenience, we suggest buying tickets to our performances and concerts via the website, the Interticket national network ( or at our official ticket offices.


  • Imre Kollár
  • violin
    Éva Osztrosits
  • piano
    Gergő Zoltán Varga
  • organ
    Dániel Somogyi-Tóth

Ugrás az oldal tetejére